Free Zones hub

Dubai international financial centre profile

DIFC free zone in Dubai: licences, location and setup profile

DIFC is a Dubai financial free zone and business platform for financial and non-financial firms, as well as AI, FinTech and innovation, retail, and leisure businesses. It suits companies that value a central Dubai location, an established legal and regulatory environment, and a specialist business ecosystem. Nuances and Co. (Nuances Education and Consultancy), part of NAHY Group

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

Your first consultation hour is free. Talk to us on WhatsApp.

What is DIFC and who is it for?

DIFC is a geographically defined free zone in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Its official establishment material presents it as a platform for financial and non-financial businesses, with a strategic location in the heart of Dubai and an ecosystem designed for collaboration, innovation, skilled talent, and regional growth. It is therefore a relevant route for founders and established companies whose proposed activity benefits from a financial-centre setting rather than a generic company-registration route.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

Which business activities and license types does DIFC offer?

DIFC publicly groups opportunities into financial firms, non-financial firms, AI, FinTech and innovation firms, and retail and leisure. This is useful for early screening because it distinguishes a financial-services proposition from a non-financial business and recognises innovation and customer-facing concepts. The reviewed official establishment page does not expose a closed, activity-by-activity licence taxonomy, so an applicant should not assume that a broad category automatically covers a specific proposed activity.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

How many residence visas can a DIFC company sponsor?

DIFC states that it provides support with visas, but the reviewed official establishment page does not publish a standard residence-visa quota for every company. A visa allocation should therefore be treated as part of the setup assessment, not as a fixed feature that can be assumed from the zone name alone. The relevant visa allocation is confirmed at consultation.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

What office options does DIFC require: flexi desk, office or warehouse?

DIFC presents spaces and offices as options to suit businesses, which confirms that premises form part of the ecosystem. The reviewed official page does not publish a single universal requirement that says every applicant must use a flexi desk, a conventional office, or warehouse space. Premises should instead be selected after the activity, operational needs, staffing model, and any regulator expectations have been identified.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

How much does a DIFC license cost and what is included?

DIFC describes its setup process as transparent and cost-efficient, but the reviewed official establishment page does not provide a current fee schedule that can be used to quote a licence amount. The current fee amount is confirmed at consultation. This avoids presenting a headline figure that may omit activity-specific approvals, premises, immigration, regulatory, or renewal elements.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

How long does it take to set up a company in DIFC?

The reviewed DIFC establishment page describes a transparent setup process but does not publish a standard incorporation turnaround for every business type. The anticipated setup time is confirmed at consultation. A reliable plan must distinguish between entity formation, any regulatory review, premises arrangements, immigration steps, and bank onboarding rather than describing them as a single event.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

Can a DIFC company open a corporate bank account in the UAE?

Corporate banking should be planned alongside the DIFC formation file, but the reviewed official establishment page does not publish a corporate-bank-account procedure or an approval outcome. The bank account is therefore a separate readiness workstream, with the company’s ownership, activity, source-of-funds narrative, expected transactions, and operational substance prepared coherently for the selected bank.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

Does a DIFC company pay Corporate Tax and VAT?

DIFC states that it is a geographically designated and defined area in the United Arab Emirates and is considered a qualified free zone for the purposes of the UAE Corporate Tax Law. Its establishment page says that businesses operating in the DIFC Free Zone may benefit from a zero per cent corporate tax rate on qualifying income, as specified by the relevant Cabinet and ministerial decisions. Qualification is central: the published statement is not a universal tax outcome for every item of income or every company.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

DIFC vs ADGM vs DMCC: which one fits your business?

DIFC is the natural starting point for a company seeking a Dubai financial-centre environment and whose proposal aligns with its published financial, non-financial, AI, FinTech and innovation, retail, or leisure categories. Its official materials stress independent regulation, a robust legal and regulatory environment, and a location in the heart of Dubai. The decisive questions are not branding alone, but whether the activity, regulatory status, premises needs, team plan, and target market fit the DIFC route.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

ADGM is an international financial centre in Abu Dhabi with an independent regulatory environment and legal jurisdiction. Its official setup materials cover financial and non-financial firms, retail, banking and money services, wealth and asset management, capital markets, digital assets, FinTech, professional services, corporate solutions, and technology startups. It can be the better comparison where Abu Dhabi location, its stated jurisdictional framework, or the particular activity scope is the strategic priority.

Source: ADGM — Setting Up · https://www.adgm.com/setting-up · September 2026

DMCC is a Dubai government authority and a trade, commerce, and innovation centre. Its official materials describe a fully digital formation process and licence categories that include service, trading, commercial, and industrial activity. It may be a more suitable comparison for a proposal centred on wider trading, commercial operations, or manufacturing, whereas DIFC should be assessed where the business case is linked to its own financial-centre platform and business categories. The appropriate choice is confirmed at consultation.

Source: DMCC — Set up a new business · https://dmcc.ae/business/set-up-a-new-business · September 2026; DMCC — Business Activities and Licences: A Complete Guide · https://dmcc.ae/blog/complete-guide-on-dmcc-licences · September 2026

How does Nuances and Co. set up your company in DIFC?

The engagement begins by mapping the proposed business against DIFC’s published firm categories, then identifying whether the plan is financial, non-financial, AI, FinTech and innovation, retail, or leisure. The review should also surface whether independent regulatory licensing may be relevant, what premises are operationally appropriate, and how the founders expect to hire, reside, and bank in the UAE.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026

Next, the file is organised around the selected activity, ownership, legal structure, business narrative, supporting documents, and authority-facing requirements. The workstream should make clear which elements are within the incorporation process and which remain separate assessments, including regulated permissions, immigration procedures, corporate banking, and tax compliance. This gives founders a decision-ready sequence rather than a generic checklist.

The service is quoted individually. Before proceeding, the scope should record the proposed activity, premises direction, immigration needs, expected banking profile, and all items that require confirmation with the relevant authority or institution. Licence scope, current fees, timing, visa allocation, capital terms, and tax treatment are confirmed at consultation.

DIFC in numbers (2026)

DIFC had 10,018 active registered companies in the first half of 2026, after 2,318 new registrations in six months. This includes 1,134 regulated financial firms, 1,933 AI, FinTech and innovation companies and 1,409 foundations (source: Dubai Media Office, July 2026). At the end of 2025, DIFC had 8,844 active companies, 2,525 new registrations during the year and a workforce of 50,200 (source: DIFC annual results, February 2026). DIFC ranks 7th in the Global Financial Centres Index, the highest in the Middle East, Africa and South Asia (source: Dubai Media Office, July 2026).

How DIFC works: law, regulator and courts

DIFC is a financial free zone in Dubai, created by UAE Federal Decree No. 35 of 2004. Financial services are regulated by the Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA), an independent regulator, and disputes go to the independent DIFC Courts, under a legal framework based on common law principles (source: difc.com).

Company types in DIFC

DIFC registers private and public companies, limited liability partnerships, limited and general partnerships, branches of foreign companies (Recognised Companies), Protected Cell Companies, Variable Capital Companies, foundations, Special Purpose Vehicles (Prescribed Companies) and family offices. Each activity follows a financial track or a non financial and retail track (source: difc.com).

How much does a DIFC company cost?

DIFC does not publish one current package price for opening a company. Its official Registrar of Companies Table of Fees publishes separate registration or incorporation charges and separate Commercial or Operating Licence charges by entity type and Non-Retail or Retail classification. The rows are not added into a package total.

EntityOfficial fee
SPV (Prescribed Company)USD 100 application fee and USD 1,000 per year licence fee
Innovation LicenceUSD 1,500 per year
Private company and other entitiesSet by the DIFC fee table and quoted case by case

(source: difc.com, 2026). Office space and visas are charged separately.

PackagePublished priceWhat is includedWhat is excludedConditionsSource
Registration / Incorporation — Representative Office$2,000 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of a Representative Office.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Protected Cell Company$1,000 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of a Protected Cell Company.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Insurance and Reinsurance Captive$1,000 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of an Insurance and Reinsurance Captive.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Open/Closed Ended Investment Company (Fund)$1,000 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of the stated investment company.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — General Partner in an Investment Fund$100 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of the stated General Partner.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Limited Partnership registered as an Investment Fund$1,000 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of the stated Limited Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Non-Profit Incorporated Organization$100 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of the organisation.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Private / Public Company$8,000 / $3,400Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Recognised Company$8,000 / $3,400Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — General Partnership$4,000 / $1,700Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Limited Partnership$4,000 / $1,700Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Limited Liability Partnership$8,000 / $3,400Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Recognised Limited Partnership$4,000 / $1,700Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Recognised Partnership$4,000 / $1,700Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Recognised Limited Liability Partnership$8,000 / $3,400Registration or incorporation; Non-Retail / Retail.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — FoundationNil / n.a.Registration or incorporation of a Foundation.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Recognised FoundationNil / n.a.Registration or incorporation of a Recognised Foundation.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Fund Manager with Future of Finance or Future Economy FocusNil / n.a.Registration or incorporation of the stated Fund Manager.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Fund Manager of Venture Capital FundsNil / n.a.Registration or incorporation of the stated Fund Manager.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Representative Office$4,000 / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Representative Office.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Protected Cell CompanyNil / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Protected Cell Company.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Open/Closed Ended Investment Company (Fund)Nil / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Open/Closed Ended Investment Company (Fund).Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — General Partner in an Investment Fund$1,000 / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for General Partner in an Investment Fund.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Limited Partnership registered as an Investment FundNil / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Limited Partnership registered as an Investment Fund.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Insurance and Reinsurance CaptiveNil / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Insurance and Reinsurance Captive.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Non-Profit Incorporated Organization$1,000 / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Non-Profit Incorporated Organization.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Private / Public Company$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Private / Public Company.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Recognised Company$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Recognised Company.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — General Partnership$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for General Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Limited Partnership$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Limited Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Limited Liability Partnership$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Limited Liability Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Recognised Limited Partnership$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Recognised Limited Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Recognised Partnership$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Recognised Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Recognised Limited Liability Partnership$12,000 / $5,100Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Recognised Limited Liability Partnership.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Foundation$350 / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Foundation.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Recognised Foundation$350 / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Recognised Foundation.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Fund Manager with Future of Finance or Future Economy FocusNil / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Fund Manager with Future of Finance or Future Economy Focus.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Commercial / Operating Licence — Fund Manager of Venture Capital FundsNil / n.a.Commercial or operating licence upon incorporation or registration for Fund Manager of Venture Capital Funds.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.
Registration / Incorporation — Fintech or Innovation Firm$100 / n.a.Registration or incorporation of a Fintech or Innovation Firm.Not specified by the source.Published as separate Non-Retail / Retail charges, not a package or combined total.

With Nuances, company setup starts from AED 6,000, including the official free zone fee. The final cost depends on the free zone, the activity and the number of visas.

What other official fees may apply?

  • Knowledge and Innovation fees: AED 20. The DIFC table states that an additional charge applies to the relevant listed charges. Official source

Source: DIFC — Operating Handbooks, Guidance and Fees · https://www.difc.com/business/operating-handbook-fees · September 2026; DIFC — Registrar of Companies Table of Fees · https://assets.difc.com/v1/media/edge/images/dubaiintern0078-difcexperie96c5-production-3253/media/project/difcexperiences/difc/difcwebsite/documents/business-section-documents/operating-a-business/operating-business---handbook-fees/roc-table-of-fees---updated-25-december-2025.pdf · September 2026

What the free zone fee does not include

The authority's fee is only one part of the total. On top of it, most founders pay for residence visa processing, the Emirates ID and the medical test, the office or flexi-desk option, opening a corporate bank account, bookkeeping, Corporate Tax registration and, when it applies, VAT, and the annual renewal of the licence and visas. Founders from Brazil, Portugal and Angola also need to plan the tax side in their home country before the company starts invoicing.

Frequently asked questions

Questions about DIFC

Do I need to be in the UAE to set up a company in DIFC?

The license can usually be issued remotely. Your presence is required for the residence visa (medical test and biometrics) and, in most cases, for opening the bank account.

Source: DIFC — Establish a Business · https://www.difc.ae/business/establish-a-business · September 2026; UAE Government — Residence visa for family members · https://u.ae/en/information-and-services/visa-and-emirates-id/Types-of-visas/Residence-visa/residence-visa-for-family-members · September 2026

Can I sponsor my family with a DIFC residence visa?

Yes. A valid residence visa lets you sponsor spouse and children, subject to the salary and housing requirements published by the UAE authorities.

Source: UAE Government — Residence visa for family members · https://u.ae/en/information-and-services/visa-and-emirates-id/Types-of-visas/Residence-visa/residence-visa-for-family-members · September 2026

Can a DIFC company sell to customers in the UAE mainland?

Only through a mainland distributor or by obtaining the relevant mainland permit. The free zone license is designed for international and in-zone business.

Source: Invest in Dubai — Setting up a mainland company · https://www.investindubai.gov.ae/en/business-setup/mainland-companies · September 2026

How much does it cost to open a company in DIFC?

DIFC charges registration and licence fees in US dollars, and they vary by entity type; the full list is in the DIFC Registrar of Companies Table of Fees (checked September 2026). Visas, Emirates ID, office and renewal are charged separately.

Source: DIFC — Operating Handbooks, Guidance and Fees · https://www.difc.com/business/operating-handbook-fees · September 2026; DIFC — Registrar of Companies Table of Fees · https://assets.difc.com/v1/media/edge/images/dubaiintern0078-difcexperie96c5-production-3253/media/project/difcexperiences/difc/difcwebsite/documents/business-section-documents/operating-a-business/operating-business---handbook-fees/roc-table-of-fees---updated-25-december-2025.pdf · September 2026

How many companies are in DIFC?

10,018 active registered companies in the first half of 2026, with 2,318 new registrations in six months (Dubai Media Office, July 2026).

Who regulates DIFC?

Financial services are regulated by the Dubai Financial Services Authority (DFSA), and disputes go to the independent DIFC Courts.

What is the difference between DIFC and ADGM?

Both are financial free zones with common law frameworks. DIFC is in Dubai and regulated by the DFSA; ADGM is in Abu Dhabi, on Al Maryah and Al Reem Islands, regulated by the FSRA, with English common law applied directly.

Company setup enquiry

Discuss your DIFC setup.

Nuances and Co. services are quoted individually after the team reviews the activity, owners, visa needs and operating plan.

Talk to us on WhatsApp

Your information is kept private. We'll only use it to send you the guide and relevant updates about UAE business setup.

WhatsApp